Disappointing Books of 2018 (so far)

Hello, hello!!

How are you guys doing? Having fun? Maybe reading the weekend away? I hope so because I have tried to do that this weekend. It’s monsoon here and to read while I am all cozy on a rainy has been a blessing.

However today I am not gonna talk about the books that brought me pleasure, quite a the opposite, really. It’s the books that disappointed me, books that let me down because of whatever reason. I generally don’t talk about those books because they could be somebody’s favourite and me talking about not liking them could hurt them but the thing is, it’s always good to have such discussions right? To see what other people think of the books you found lacking in some way?

So, here I am! Bringing books that disappointed me this year one way or another.

Discovery by Leslie Schweitzer Miller

The life of a nineteenth century priest has a profound effect on the future of a couple in 2012. Together, these intertwined stories will take you on the journey of DISCOVERY.

I had a rough idea of how this book could be and the synopsis supported that idea and so I picked it up. However I couldn’t connect or even care about the main characters no matter how hard I tried. Compared to the characters in the past, the main characters seemed to be one dimensional and almost cardboard-like. Sorry, it sounds bad but it’s true. I tried to care but I just couldn’t. I only finished the book because of the characters in the past were truly interesting and I wanted to know more about them.

Zero by Marc Elsberg

They know everything you do – The gripping bestselling global thriller for fans of Dave Eggers’ THE CIRCLE and Channel Four’s BLACK MIRROR. Are we being controlled through our social media posts? Who is reading them and what are they doing with the information?

This one also suffered from lack of character connection, the plot was really good and I loved the pace as well. I really do need to connect with characters in a book and if I can’t then it’s not really going to be a good experience for me. Characters, for me, are as important as the plot itself. Or even world-building. So, yeah, in that regard it was a big let down with this one.

Bookshop Girl by Chloe Coles

Bennett’s Bookshop has always been a haven for sixteen-year-old Paige Turner. It’s a place where she can escape from her sleepy hometown, hang out with her best friend, Holly, and also earn some money.

But, like so many bookshops, Bennett’s has become a ‘casualty of the high street’ – it’s strapped for cash and going to be torn down. Paige is determined to save it but mobilising a small town like Greysworth is no mean feat.

Dear god, this book had so much potential to be good and such a good plot, at least if you go by the synopsis alone. Once I started reading the book, I came across many things that really bothered me. I mean, I loved the plot, I really did. Anything that comes close to a plot of saving a bookshop always entices me but there were just enough points against it that it ended up being a disappointing book. Plus, the language, goodness. The one thing I couldn’t stand was the way the girls talked, yes, I also go ‘OMG’ regularly but the way it was shown put me off.

My Italian Bulldozer by Alexander McCall Smith

When writer Paul Stewart heads to the idyllic Italian town of Montalcino to finish his already late book, it seems like the perfect escape from stressful city life. Upon landing, however, things quickly take a turn for the worse when he discovers his hired car is nowhere to be found. With no record of any reservation and no other cars available it looks like Paul is stuck at the airport. That is, until an enterprising stranger offers him an unexpected alternative. While there may be no cars available there is something else on offer: a bulldozer.

See, I really did enjoy this book? With this one, it was just extra expectations? That would be my fault and another part was the fact that I cared more about the village and the villagers than the main character’s drama in life. I know, I sound horrible, don’t I? But it’s true and I can’t hide it. I am not even sure if this one should be on the list but the thing is, I expect at least a little bit emotional connection with the main character when I am reading a book and in that regard, it did disappoint me. So, it stays on the list.

Amsterdam Exposed by David Wiener

Amsterdam Exposed tells the true one-of-a-kind story of an innocent exchange student who moves to Amsterdam hoping to write a book about the red light district and everything that follows.Β 

Now, this one was a true disappointment. Seriously, I was expecting so much and hoping for some really good content, instead all I got was a really sad story of a girl who is left behind by the dickhead of the main character. Instead of giving me a story of the lives of the girls in the Red District, I got a girl who was taken advantage of by the main character, it was seriously such a let down. I am not sure I am calm about this yet. Oh, well.

So, these were the top five disappointing books of the year so far. Have you heard of any of those? Read them? If yes, did you like them/ hate them? Also, what are your top five disappointing books of the year so far? If you don’t have five, just tell me one or two. Some of you must have had a good year, right? Of no let downs from the books and such? If so, share that as well so I can bask in the fresh envy of that.

That sounded weird, didn’t it? Oh well, I am a bit weird so it’s alright.

 

One thought on “Disappointing Books of 2018 (so far)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s