In The Land of ARCs

Ciao!

So, I recently finished reading some of my e-ARCs (and here are my reviews for the books) and of course, had a post about e-ARCs last month but since then, some of them have been finished and some new titles have been added. I am pretty excited to read them because they offer such promise!

I am hoping that this feature is a bit more often present than last year because I love showing off my new ARCs, okay? That’s probably a weird and not a good reason but who cares? At this point, I just wanna show my shiny books. So what if they are just ebooks at this point? It doesn’t matter to me. Books are books and getting to read them before they are properly released is always a privilege.

So, without further ado, let’s admire my shiny new ones.

+++++

Find Me Falling

by Fiona Vigo Marshall

Waste Island, a desolate backwater at the edge of England, home to lost talents, broken promises and unanswered prayers. Londoner Bonnie, a traumatised concert pianist, has found a refuge there, at a cliff-top house haunted by old memories and perhaps more.

When road sweeper Dominic hands her a ring he has found on the beach, they are drawn to each other with a destructive passion that neither are able to control…

+++++

This is not exactly my usual go-to genre but since I have decided to broaden my reading horizons this year, I am trying out new things. I am hoping that there’s more than romance in this one because romance as a driving force hasn’t worked for me for a while now. Still, I remain hopeful.

+++++

Cala by Laura Legge

A brilliantly original coming-of-age story from a new and powerful literary voice. Perfect for readers of Sophie Mackintosh’s The Water Cure and Daisy Johnson’s Everything Under.

Cala, a stone farmhouse on the edge of a village in the Outer Hebrides, is home to four women – witches the locals say – who scratch out a living on its land. But after ten years of relative harmony, fractures are beginning to appear among them.

Eighteen-year-old Euna is tired of Cala’s rigid hierarchy and arbitrary rules – the women must wear plain dress, attend strict rituals and consume only what they grow or gather with their hands. Sick of scavenged seaweed and thin soup, Euna decides to go in search of a different way of living.

+++++

When the plot sounds super interesting and is being compared with The Water Cure and Everything Under, you all knew I was gonna be a sucker for this. Also, Rachel from Pace, Amore, Libri gave me the nudge needed to request it. I didn’t even know about till she mentioned it in one of her posts.

+++++

Underland

by Robert Macfarlane

Discover the hidden worlds beneath our feet…

In Underland, Robert Macfarlane takes us on a journey into the worlds beneath our feet. From the ice-blue depths of Greenland’s glaciers, to the underground networks by which trees communicate, from Bronze Age burial chambers to the rock art of remote Arctic sea-caves, this is a deep-time voyage into the planet’s past and future. Global in its geography, gripping in its voice and haunting in its implications, Underland is a work of huge range and power, and a remarkable new chapter in Macfarlane’s long-term exploration of landscape and the human heart.

+++++

A nonfiction book about the history of environment? Sign me up! I haven’t read anything by the author before but this one seems like it’s right up my alley. I can’t wait to read this one but it’s coming out in May, I believe so I am going to wait a bit before I start this one.

Do these sound interesting to you? Have you heard about any of them? Tell me about them in the comments! My e-ARC game is still going strong, by the way. I am very proud of myself for restraining myself and not getting over my head nowadays.

3 thoughts on “In The Land of ARCs

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s